I’m a Whiny Baby

I still believe it is unprofessional to make comments about specific queries on Twitter, and there are still a couple of agents I won’t query based on (what I perceive to be) their hostility to writers.

But I’ve decided that I need to set aside my tender feelings while going through the query gauntlet. It’s business. That is all. If no agent out there thinks she can sell my book, then this book isn’t going to have an agent.

Notice I said she? I have my prejudices too, I guess. Hmm. Shouldn’t I have ironed out all my failings by now?

Anyway. I joined QueryTracker — even though I’m 95% convinced I want to go with Samhain or Carina. It’s a must-have resource, along with Publishers Marketplace.

It really bothers me that I’m having to do a lot more work than Mrs. Muir did to get my manuscript published.

2 Responses to “I’m a Whiny Baby”

  1. Helen Ginger Says:

    I had forgotten about The Ghost and Mrs. Muir. Everyone has their prejudices or an idea of who their ideal agent would be. That’s okay. Go with the one that fits you best.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  2. missfiddyment Says:

    I think the best way to find a good agent is to do everything I can to be a good client: write marketable books and don’t be a jerk (or a whiny baby), ha.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

